Can you name some distinguished alumni from IITM's Electrical Engineering department?

Rajkumar Duraiswamy

Shri Rajkumar Duraiswamy, an Electrical Engineer from IIT, Madras in 1982 and PGDM from IIM, Bangalore, took over the reins of Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited, an integrated Oil & Gas company, Maharatna CPSE of India and a Fortune Global 500 Company as Chairman & Managing Director in October 2016. Rajkumar oversaw several crucial BPCL operations that contributed to the company’s transformation into an integrated oil and gas company. Under his direction as C&MD, BPCL has accomplished a lot, including achieving the coveted Maharatna status, the Star PSU Award, establishing its wholly-owned gas subsidiary, Bharat Gas Resources Ltd., and diversifying into petrochemicals and renewable energy sources. Rajkumar is a strategist and perfectionist, participating in a variety of government committees and joint working groups that the government has created. He also participated in a committee that developed standards and recommendations for engineering practices known as the Indian National Standards.

Dr. Parthasarathy Ranganathan

Dr. Parthasarathy Ranganathan graduated from IIT Madras in 1994 with a B.Tech in Electrical Engineering. He received his M.S. and Ph.D. in Electrical and Computing Engineering from Rice University. He worked at Hewlett-Packard Laboratories from 2000 to 2013 and held several positions including as HP Fellow and Chief Technologist, and led their research on next-generation systems including Project Moonshot and the Data-Centric Data Center program. As a Google Distinguished Engineer & Area Tech Lead, he is currently driving new technical directions and incubating innovations for the hardware and data centers that power all of Google’s products.

Dr. Ranganathan’s research areas can be broadly classified as Energy Efficiency and System Architecture. He pioneered energy-adaptive displays and energy-aware user interfaces. His ideas around heterogeneous single-ISA multicore architectures are now pervasively adopted in ARM’s big. LITTLE architecture designs, underpinning billions of devices.

Swaminathan Sivakumar

Shri Swaminathan Sivakumar graduated from IIT Madras in 1987 with a Bachelor’s degree in Electrical Engineering. He obtained his Master of Science degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign in 1989. Shri Sivakumar joined Intel in 1990 as a lithography process engineer and has dedicated his career to the lithography area, working on photo-resists, patterning equipment, and process development. His contributions to lithography development, characterization, and transfer to high-volume manufacturing have spanned every sub-micron process technology generation of Intel since 1990. He has authored or co-authored more than two dozen published papers on semiconductor processing and has been issued more than 45 patents in process architecture, lithography, and patterning, with several more pending.

Prof. Srinivas Devadas

Prof. Srinivas Devadas graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in Electrical Engineering from IIT Madras in 1985, and later, with a Master’s degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of California, Berkeley in 1986. In 1988, he obtained his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from the University of California, Berkeley. He is known for his outstanding and widely cited research, recognized by several top awards from both IEEE and ACM due to his pioneering work on Physical Unclonable Functions (PUFs).

Prof. Devadas’ academic leadership includes serving as Associate Head and Interim Head of the EECS Department at MIT for six years with a key role in architecting a joint degree program with biology and also designing and introducing a very popular computer science minor at MIT. His research has translated into a successful company, Verayo. Prof. Devadas’ pioneering work on low-cost cryptographic hardware authentication has had a wide impact. Prof. Devadas founded Verayo in 2005 to commercialize this technology; Verayo has sold tens of millions of RFID Arbiter PUFs.

Dr. Kanianthara Mani Chandy

Dr. Chandy graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in “Light Current” Electrical Engineering (Electronics) from IIT Madras in 1965, and later, with a Master’s degree from the Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn in 1966. In 1969, he obtained his Ph.D. at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Electrical Engineering at the Operations Research Center. After working for Honeywell and IBM, Dr. Chandy joined the Computer Science Department of the University of Texas at Austin and served from 1970-1987, including stints as Chair in 1978-79 and 1983-85. Since 1987, he has been at the California Institute of Technology, first as Sherman Fairchild Fellow for two years, and then as Simon Ramo Chair Professor in Computer Science till 2014. He is now an Emeritus Professor at Caltech.

Dr. Nagabhushana Sindhushayana

Dr. Naga Bhushan graduated from IIT Madras in 1989 with a Bachelor’s degree in Electrical Engineering. Later, he obtained a Master’s and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from Cornell University in Ithaca, New York. With more than two decades of contributions in the telecommunications sector, he is responsible for the advancement of communication theory and innovative implementation leading to the commercial realization of Broadband Wireless Technologies such as 3G (EV-DO) and 4G (UMB, LTE, LTE-A, LTE-U). His role as the Vice President, Technology at Qualcomm Inc. places him at the helm of technologies that are the bedrock of the current smartphone revolution.

Dr. Anand Ragunathan

Dr. Raghunathan is currently a Professor in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, at Purdue University, and directs research in the Integrated Systems Laboratory. Dr.Raghunathan is also the C.R. Muthukrishnan Distinguished Chair Professor (Visiting) at the Centre for Computational Brain Research at IIT Madras. Previously, he was a Senior Research Staff Member at NEC Laboratories in Princeton, New Jersey. He received the “Patent of the Year Award” (an award recognizing the invention that has achieved the highest impact), and two Technology Commercialization Awards from NEC.

Prof. Raghunathan has authored a book, 9 book chapters, and more than 230 refereed journal and conference papers in top-tier IEEE and ACM journals, and holds 22 issued patents. He was honored among the top 10 authors over the first fifty years of the ACM/IEEE Design Automation Conference, and his paper was among the 10 most downloaded from the entire ACM Digital Library in 2004. He was chosen by MIT’s Technology Review among the TR35 in 2006, for his work on “making mobile secure”.